For the un-acronymed, DNF = did not finish. To join the Top 5 Wednesday fun, visit the official Goodreads group here!

This topic is a tricky one, because once I start reading a book, I generally force myself to see it through no matter how much I dislike it. But, much as I hate to admit it, there are a few unfinished book skeletons in my closet. So let’s unlock the door, unleash the bats and drag them into the light.

  1. Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard
    I know this series gets a lot of love, so please don’t incite a pitchfork-wielding riot. This wasn’t so much a “did not finish” as a “barely started.” About 25 pages in, I knew in my gut that I wasn’t going to finish before it came due at the library and I started accruing (more) fines. I’d give Red Queen maybe a 70% approval rating, so completing its sequel wasn’t something I was dying to do. So I cut my losses and gave some early relief to the next person on the hold list. Maybe another time, Little Lightning Girl. I still think your powers are awesome.e489df43-7fee-436a-95a6-b7c550d03cee-_cb300733319_
  2. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo (abridged)
    I was lucid enough to realize that the full version was too much to tackle, but I’ll be darned if the abridged didn’t get the best of me too. I grew listening to this musical, to the point where I can tell the original London recording from impostors based on a very brief slice of a song. Love the show to death, refuse to speak of Russell Crowe’s performance in the latest movie, and have been soundly beaten by the book.

    2015-les-miserables-production
    “To love another person is to see the face of God.”
  3. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
    I actually got an ARC of this at the 2011 American Library Association convention. Being sandwiched between two Brother Units in the sibling trio, video games were a draw for me, but I remember being put off by frequent profanity in the opening chapters. I’m no prude and laughed at Deadpool with the rest of the world, but I dislike reading foul language much more than hearing it. When the book came out and blew up the world, including being the all-freshman read at our local university, I had no desire to give it a second chance. Nobody I know matched my reaction to the language, but for whatever reason, my 2011 self wasn’t having it.readyplayerone_330x320
  4. Beautiful Chaos by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
    I could not, could not, bring myself to finish this. I’m only mildly certain this is the one I quit on, because they have all melded together into whiny character mush in my mind. I wanted very badly to like the Beautiful Creatures books, in no small part because of their gorgeous covers, but was sadly disappointed and this is where I abandoned them.10757833
  5. Life, the Universe and Everything by Douglas Adams
    Once again, I am only mildly certain this is where I quit. This is based upon a highly scientific process of being reasonably confident that I finished Restaurant at the End of the Universe, and decidedly doubtful that I actually made it to So Long and Thanks For All the Fish. I’m typically okay with weird and trippy, but this got to the point where I didn’t have the slightest clue what was happening, so I gave it up. I remember harboring vague suspicions that time travel was at play, and Arthur learning to fly by throwing himself at the ground and missing. That is all.

    LifeTheUniverseAndEverything
    DON’T PANIC
