For a list of character I wish I were like, look no further than my T5W list of Best Butt-Kickers. But these are the characters I’m actually like, however much I might dream of being a wall-scaling, sword-swinging, magic-wielding person of awesomeness. I guess there can be awesomeness in just being me. Pssh, what am I saying? Of course there is! I’ll celebrate my own awesomeness, and you should too.

  1. Ellimere  |  Lirael by Garth Nix
    The heir to the Old Kingdom throne, Ellimere is by no means one of those meek, wavering girls who doesn’t feel qualified to ascend. Type A all the way, she willingly steps up to the plate as co-regent when her parents are away from the palace. When younger brother Sameth balks at embracing his own duties, she refuses to let him wallow in his personal pity party and ramrods responsibilities down his throat. Basically a girl after my own heart.

    43c0c8ce780d99fc453093cfceab98a2
    This is me. But not actually. This is not a literal picture of me.
  2. Valentine Wiggin  |  Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
    Val and I are like this (just imagine the crossed fingers). We’re both sandwiched between two brothers, the younger of which is crazy talented. But like Val and Peter, my older bro and I aren’t half bad, and are actually both writers like the older two Wiggins. We may not be penning political essays that lay the foundation to conquer the world, but hey – baby steps. Like the Wiggin trio, we three are extremely strong-willed and capable; and like Valentine, I’m the most empathetic of us, able to understand and talk the others down from their towers of crazy.

    35e5a2db30deca9119531fb09159a9fb
    This cracked me up too much to not use.
  3. Ramona Quimby  | All the Ramona books by Beverly Cleary
    The Brother Units might have something to say about how well I fulfill the annoying sister role, but the real thing I identify with in Ramona is her off-the-wall imagination. She pretends all the time, including dragging a string around that serves as a leash for Ralph the imaginary lizard. The Brother Units and I were ALWAYS pretending when we were little, including…Firefighter Penguins. Yup.
    3e412d8b4be33a3e64578f758192db06
  4. Anthem  |  Coda by Emma Trevayne
    The world in Coda features a government that controls the population through music that has been encoded with addictive and mind-altering elements. Basically, once you’ve listened to a government-sanctioned track, you’re left in a lethargic daze and will  have to come back for another track to avoid experiencing physical withdrawal symptoms. Music is a definite mood swinger for me. I like to feel completely surrounded by it, whether that means blasting it in my car (yes, I’m that person) or getting lost in my giant earmuff headphones. Forget jazz or soft meadow sounds, music like this is actually most soothing to me.coda_zps3d4e0f26
  5. ALL FIVE BENNET SISTERS  |  Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
    Ok, sort of. I couldn’t let go of this idea once I had it – Top 5 Wednesday, 5 sisters, whatever. So here’s what I share with each of the Bennet ladies, in the order that I actually identify with them.

    1. Lizzie: If I had to pick just one, she’d be my homegirl. Strong-willed, smart, independent, cough cough more mature than her siblings? cough cough.
    2. Mary: Incredibly bookish and fails to see the point of large parties, I have a fair amount of Mary in me.
    3. Jane: A delicate flower of a lady I am NOT, but I do share Jane’s hesitancy to believe a man might actually be interested in her. Just ask the Husband Unit, who had to work for six months to get me to even consider going out with him.
    4. Kitty: I completely get Lydia’s frustration at feeling overshadowed by a younger sibling. Except instead of running off to Gretna Green like Lydia, my younger sibling was (as a boy) simply much more inclined to get featured parts in our fiercely competitive high school musicals. Grrr.
    5. Lydia: I choke to think that I have anything in common with Lydia, but I can’t back down now. Lydia is exceptionally stubborn and persistent, something I definitely share, although I can safely say that I utilize these traits with a dash more common sense than she does.4v9jvewzb13ami8anb320m29p-1000x704x1
