This weekend I decided to embark upon a special kind of insanity and jump into the 24 in 48 readathon! If you’re unfamiliar with it, the idea is to read for 24 hours over the course of 48 hours. Things are moving along over at 24in48.com, Twitter, Instagram, and Litsy. I’ve got a few updates from my first few hours, and will continue to add throughout the weekend! If you’re on Litsy, I’m there under BookFreakOut!

Friday, June 22

7 p.m.

I decide to run my 48 hours from 7 p.m. Friday through 7 p.m. Sunday CST since Sunday night is usually preoccupied with preparing for the work week. Ah, adulthood. I embark upon my literary quest right around 7, pushing to finish A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas while the Husband Unit and friends play a tabletop game that I know will buy me a couple of uninterrupted hours.

11:30 p.m.

After breaking for half-price Sonic shakes and an episode of South Park, I am within THE LAST 10 PAGES of Court of Thorns and Roses when I am interrupted by the Husband Unit, who has been scrolling through the depths of YouTube an uncovered the gem below. Get 25 seconds in; I promise it will be worth it.

As far as mood killers go, this one’s a doozy. I manage to convince him to LEAVE ME ALONE for 5 more minutes so I can PLEASE finish this book. Grumble grumble grumble. I clock out of Friday with 3:34:36 on my 24 hour goal, and one book down.

Saturday, June 23

8:15 a.m.

I download an audiobook of Marie Lu’s Prodigy so every precious second of drive time can be utilized. Good thing the Husband Unit likes this series, because he’s getting pulled along for the ride. Good thing I can keep track of more than one plot at a time.

10:15 a.m.

Home with the books! Finishing my ARC of The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon is next up on the list, and I dig in on the couch.

10:30 a.m.

Husband Unit asks, “Do you want to read until dinner?” Big smile from me. “I mean lunch?” Scowl. Fine. *scoff at needing nutrition to survive*

11:45 a.m.

Print-reading clock is up to 5:21:04, plus whatever minutes of audiobooks I’ve managed to squeeze in. Begin to think about needing to create this blog post, but become torn between that and losing valuable read time. Download audiobook of Marie Lu’s The Rose Society, so I can listen and do my updating activities at the same time. Have you ever tried to type and listen to different text at the same time? It’s really hard.

12:30 p.m.

Apparently the Litsy app is down. Booooo. But not surprising, considering it’s still a relatively young platform that’s probably experiencing a higher than normal user concentration thanks to all of us readathoners going bananas.

2 p.m.

In a moment of stunning marital compromise, the Husband Unit and I begin a joint game of Sid Meier’s Civilization 5 while listening to Prodigy. For those who don’t know, it’s basically Risk on the computer. He could play it all day, but I can only handle a few hours at a time. Books make it better though!

maxresdefault
Civ 5. Feast your eyes.

4:15 p.m.

My brain maxes out on its capacity for Civ. Back to the print books. Husband Unit continues to play. I can hear it in the background. Also, Litsy has come back up! *cheers and frantic posting*

4:51 p.m.

Finish The Sun is Also a Star. Feel a little pit open up inside my heart for the sadness, but also the sweetness. Very powerful ending. Comes out this November, I highly recommend it.

4:56 p.m.

Get over my feels and pick up Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir, preparing for more feels. I read this last April when it came out, but it’s my book club pick for next Friday so a refresher course is probably in order.

6:50 p.m.

Succumb to the need for food. Pull microwave meal from freezer and, for fear of splattering red pasta sauce on my lovely hardback, switch to ebook on the phone. Husband Unit sits unsuspectingly next to me on the couch and after about twenty minutes asks, “Are you reading on your phone?!?” Yes. *frosty tone of voice*

7:30 p.m.

Embrace the fact that I am not embracing my audiobook of The Rose Society, and switch to The Giver. I’ve read it, but listening to something familiar makes for easier multitasking. Like blogging and Litsy-ing and general internet perusing!

7:54 p.m.

Ahhh, The Giver was such a good choice. The soothing familiarity of this classic is washing over me like a balm. I think part of my issue with listening to The Rose Society is that I read its predecessor, The Young Elites, in print format and wasn’t accustomed to hearing the author’s pronunciation of the names, which are largely very flourishing and open to interpretation in a reader’s mental theater.

THEY ARE GOING TO TAKE LILY’S COMFORT OBJECT AWAY THIS YEAR. Also known as a stuffed animal. I so would’ve failed out of this community.

9:00 p.m.

Take a brief break to watch all the movie and TV trailers that are dropping at San Diego Comic-Con this weekend: Justice League, Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, King Arthur: Legend of the Sword, and the 20th season of South Park. I’m sure your Facebook trending feed will be happy to acquaint you with all these and more.

10:45 p.m.

The train is still chugging along! Settling in for the evening, switching between audiobook of The Giver and print of Ember in the Ashes as my mood swings and I have to wait for my phone to download the next section of the audiobook. And of course, it downloads sections 3 and 4 before 2; thanks a lot, phone. Late nights are easy peasy for me, and I’ll probably squeeze at least another hour in tonight!

11:00 p.m.

Husband Unit insists I shower. What a waste of reading minutes.

single-11

Sunday, July 24

12:30 a.m.

Like a crazy woman, I am still awake. Still reading, still audiobooking. #IAmTheEspressoOwl

coffee-owls

2:30 a.m.

Peace out, y’all. Total since Friday night = 17:13:34. I know I’ve got church and family lunch tomorrow, so we’ll see if I can make the final push to the finish!

8:45 a.m.

Oh, good morning world. Today I am the half-caf owl. Listening to The Giver as I stumble around the apartment.

10:30 a.m.

Hide out in the church library to squeeze in 30 minutes of reading between the service we just got out of and family lunch. BUT WAIT! DEVELOPMENTS! My younger Brother Unit and sister-in-law are spontaneously coming into town for lunch and to check out the Hastings going out of business sale, which started this weekend. *sniff sniff tears* The Brother Unit asks the following:

Brother Unit: On a scale of “one” to “Frodo watching Gandalf fall over the Bridge of Khazad-dûm,” how distraught are you about Hastings closing?
Me: I’m throwing myself into the chasm with Gandalf.

But…I have my hours all calculated out. Will this throw off my entire plan?!?! Will I make 24 hours?!?!?! Uncertain at this point, but if it comes down to it, family will win out even though it will be a knife in my competitive nature if I have to concede the readathon.

12:00 p.m. 

I end up wandering around Hastings with one earbud in and The Giver on my phone. Winning strategy, even if it gets me an eye roll from the Husband Unit. I’m decently sure I’m still on track to finish. I’m decently sure my family thinks I’m totally nuts, though they haven’t said as much to my face. I can only do something about one of these things. I need to get out a calculator.

1:40 p.m.

Audiobooks are my saving grace. Faced with the end of The Giver in 15 minutes, I have a moment of panic about what to do next. I could go back to print books, but I want to hop on here and Litsy. I could start up The Rose Society audiobook again, but I really hadn’t been digging that. TO THE COMPUTER! FIND A NEW AUDIOBOOK! I go with Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch, because I own the hardback (as yet unread) and am hoping that starting in audio will kick me into gear to read my physical copy. Saved.

2:30 p.m.

Google finds me a calculator that lets me put in hours, minutes and seconds, because converting all of that seems like…nope, not gonna happen. A surge of impending victory wells up in me! As of now, I have 20 hours, 46 minutes, 15 seconds. Even running off my modified 7 p.m. Friday – 7 p.m. Sunday timeline, the 24 hour goal is attainable!

55053857

3:15 p.m.

This has become almost soothing, since I know I can make it and the Husband Unit is happily occupied with another game of Civ 5 (online with a friend, not the one we started yesterday). Thanks to the Dad Unit for leaving a supportive-I-mean-sarcastic comment on here. I love you, too.

4:45 p.m.

Moment of glee when I realize I have three finished books to enter into my library’s summer reading program. Yay, summer reading!

By this point, I’m ready to put down roots or become a slug or sloth or some other barely-moving creature. If I fall asleep listening to Snow Like Ashes, do the minutes still count? JK I’ll stay awake, but I both look and feel like I’m stuck in the Doldrums of The Phantom Tollbooth.

the_doldrums
One of my favorite books and movies. Checked this sucker out on VHS more than once.

5:33 p.m.

Uh oh. The Husband Unit emerges from the computer room. His need for sustenance and grocery shopping is about to clash with my need to finish JUST 40 MORE MINUTES. I manage to stave him off through the power of science. And by that, I mean showing him my online calculator that currently says 23 hours, 23 minutes, 50 seconds.

6:21 p.m.

VICTORY IS MINE! Calculator reads 24 hours, 9 minutes, 17 seconds! I’ll do more of a recap later, but for now, I actually do need to go grocery shopping.
one-does-not-simply-declare-victory-but-i-just-did

10:37 p.m.

My 48 hours have come and gone, and the recap post is now available here!

Grand Totals

Finished
A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (was partway through already)
The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon (was partway through already)
The Giver by Lois Lowry audiobook

In Progress
Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch audiobook
An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
Prodigy by Marie Lu audiobook

Abandoned
The Rose Society by Marie Lu audiobook

 

