We’ve all heard that we shouldn’t judge a book by its cover. That we should be openminded. That we should try new things. True, true and true, but sometimes you’ve got to know when to stop. There are too many good books in the world for us to spend time reading things we have no interest in, and if the world has a problem with that then the world clearly needs to remove its nose from your personal business. In this week’s Top Five Wednesday, I’m offering a not-at-all-sad farewell toast to these books I’m not going to read!

19du67

  1. Ready Player One  |  Ernest Cline
    My relationship with this book is strange. I actually picked it up as an ARC at the 2011 American Library Association conference, and it was not a hot commodity at the time. I seriously walked past the stack several times before it made its way into my bag. I tried reading it, but honestly could not get into it despite the fact that the virtual reality/video game premise should’ve been a shoo-in for me. I remember the first few chapters having enough foul language that I bailed. Fast forward a few months, and the world is reading and raving about it, including plenty of people I know. I could give it a try and see if my memory is accurate, but I honestly probably won’t. I’m not much for second chances on books.

    ReadyPlayerOne
    There it is in the 2011 ALA haul. Sigh.
  2. Day 21  |  Kass Morgan
    My summation of the first book, “The 100,” stands thusly: selfish people doing selfish things. As much as I disliked the book (I actually physically slapped it, which is pretty scandalous for me), I hated the show even more for the fact that the book’s young adolescents got the sexy CW angst treatment that had me rolling my eyes from the opening titles. Therefore, the second (or third) book shall not be making its way into my life. Out of curiosity, I pulled part of the description and have a few…thoughts…on it. My words are inserted in bold.

    Glass faces an unthinkable choice between the love of her life and life itself. That’s not really a choice at all. In this pulse-pounding eye-rolling sequel to Kass Morgan’s The 100, secrets are revealed, beliefs are challenged, and relationships are tested because everyone lies and makes dumb decisions. And the hundred will struggle to survive the only way they can — together, if they could manage to think of someone other than themselves for two seconds.

    the_100_trilogy_boxset
    Movie/TV covers. Gag.
  3. Go Set a Watchman  |  Harper Lee
    I understand that there is widespread appeal for this book. After all, who wouldn’t want another deep, powerful novel from what is arguably one of our greatest authors? However, therein lies the problem. It’s not really a completed novel. It’s an earlier version of the manuscript that eventually became To Kill a Mockingbird. Since Harper Lee was so old when it was discovered, I feel it can’t have received the same critical editing treatment that a book brought fully to publication with its author’s in-depth involvement would. After all, this turned into TKaM for a reason. In the same way that many people say Harry Potter and the Cursed Child reads more like a fan-fiction, Watchman isn’t the same thing as another full-fledged novel from Harper Lee, and I don’t feel the need to mess with my admiration for TKaM.

    watchman

  4. The Song of the Lioness quartet  |  Tamora Pierce
    Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE Tamora Pierce. However, my preference both as a child and adult has been for the Circle of Magic series over the books set in Tortall. I know these are fabulous books, but the Circle books somehow grabbed me and never let go, and I never had the desire to cross over to her other world. I did read part of the Protector of the Small quartet but eventually lost interest, and owned Terrier from the Beka Cooper books at one point but ultimately sold it.

    song2bof2bthe2blioness

  5. Most of the things on my Goodreads “To Read” list
    Let’s be brutally honest for a moment, shall we? Take a deep breath and join in the collective admittance that we will add nearly ANYTHING to our Goodreads TBR, especially if there’s a giveaway for it. If I cared about cleaning up that list, the earliest pages would probably be completely wiped away.

This was strangely cathartic. It’s nice to finally say “NO!” instead of “Oh, I want to get to that someday.” Try it for yourself! Leave a comment of what you’re never in the history of ever going to read, or drop a link to your post and I’ll check it out!

