It’s almost New Year’s Eve. Apparently that’s a big deal for some people – people who are not me. My most exciting New Year’s Eve ever (and I do mean ever) was the turn of the millennium when I was 9 and my brothers and I stayed up until midnight watching The Iron Giant.* We’re real party animals. Just keep that in mind when you see my Top Five Wednesday for book characters invited to my New Year’s Eve party.

  1. Dee  |  Rat Queens by Kurtis Wiebe
    As the most bookish and anti-social member of the Rat Queens gang of battle maidens, Dee has a standing invitation to visit my house any time. Why should New Year’s Eve not involve reading?  We can stretch out on separate couches with our stack(s) of books, no interaction required. Sounds like a great party to me.
    tumblr_n1n8v61f9j1qf0qz3o3_1280
  2. Catherine  |  Heartless by Marissa Meyer
    Cath is invited on the condition that she brings baked goods in an excessive quantity. When you have a Husband Unit who would gladly eat the whole roll of packaged cinnamon rolls on his own, you can never be too prepared.
  3. Agnieszka |  Uprooted by Naomi Novik
    If we get sick of baked goods,** Nieszka can use her “turn boring food into super tasty food” spell (that I am currently blanking on the name of) to make treats of the savory variety. Like…jalapeño poppers. Also, I’m thinking we invade the Dragon’s tower as a prime party location – specifically its library full of ancient and magical books that may or may not suck us into a spell we can’t break out of. Sounds like a fun time to me!
  4. Irene  |  The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman
    With her Library spy skills and use of the Language, Irene would be an excellent candidate to break us into the Dragon’s magically guarded tower on the off-chance that he doesn’t just let us in. Which he might not, ’cause he’s a punk. Plus, Irene is from a book with “library” in the title, so she and Dee and me would totes be besties.
  5. The Silent Assassins  |  The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas
    Only the silent ones are invited. And they’d better bring books.

fe5a9880f899c47cf29e2860030d3ff1

Clearly I’d be better off hosting a silent reading party than a New Year’s Eve party. But like all parties, that requires, you know, work, and I can just as easily sit at home and read on my own to the same effect – provided I get the Husband Unit playing a computer game that guarantees he won’t try to suck me into home remodeling for a few hours. Civ 5 and Fallout 4 should do the trick.

Who’s crashing your bash? Drop a link in the comments and I’ll check out your list!

*Which is an excellent choice for any sort of occasion, New Year’s Eve or otherwise. Suuuupermaaaaan! *Silently sobs*

**LOL like that would ever happen.

