Another weekend has come and gone, and with it, massive amounts of reading. Thanks to 24 in 48, I had a valid excuse to sit and read and eat pretzels and read and crochet and read. But mostly read. If you’re interested in the high stakes play-by-play, scoot on over to this post. Otherwise, for the purposes of being entered in a prize drawing (who doesn’t love prizes?), here are my final thoughts, which are way more coherent today than they would’ve been yesterday.

First things first, the grand total of time:

24 hours, 7 minutes, 17 seconds

Because stopping right at 24 hours is for slackers. Below, I present my highly scientific method for coming to this total, which involved such in-depth techniques as googling “hours minutes second calculator” and putting times into it.

screen-shot-2017-01-22-at-7-15-29-pm

What exactly do those times represent, you say? I have that information as well, I say. In order of appearance:

  • Last half of the audiobook Soldier by Julie Kagawa, which I noted the starting time code of when I began.
  • A few chapters of The Young Elites by Marie Lu, which I added the chapter times of in iTunes.
  • The entirety of the audiobook of A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman.
  • My phone stopwatch, which encompassed reading most of Bound by Blood and Sand by Becky Allen, and Raymie Nightingale by Kate Dicamillo. Also a few minutes of a very frustrating grocery store trip, but you’ll have to read the play-by-play to get the lowdown on that. 32 bell peppers.
  • The last three are time codes for audiobook sections of Fire by Kristin Cashore, because at this point I was approaching the end and was too lazy to add them into one line first.

Then it spit out this helpful little block of calculations, in case I wanted to feel like a boss and brag about how many seconds I read, because 86,000+ is infinitely cooler than 24.

screen-shot-2017-01-22-at-7-15-40-pm

Now that we’re finished with that, some thoughts on the readathon. This was my second time participating, and I was definitely more prepared for this rodeo.

  • Started with more audiobooks: Last time, I found myself scrambling for whatever audiobooks were checked into my library’s digital selection. This time, I reserved a few titles in advance, which clearly panned out since only 5.5 of my hours were spent on print books. One of my reading goals for this year is to listen to more books, since I have had the genius realization that it allows me to multitask my reading and crocheting.tumblr_n3ww1ujc0l1sj8vxio1_500
  • Keep your hands (or feet) busy: I crocheted like a madwoman this weekend. I can’t just sit and listen, but with a yarn and hook in my hand I can go for hours on end. A lot of other people take breaks to walk with audiobooks, but I have the ability to put down roots wherever I’m sitting and not feel the need to move for a disconcerting number of hours. It’s like the antithesis of a superpower.e48aedb379cbbeb51b6f98a442222442
  • Warn anyone you’ll be around: This is especially true for anyone you live with. Unless your spouse/significant other is participating with you, prepare to fend off a certain amount of exasperation, particularly if you’re gunning for the full 24 hours. I have found this to be especially true on day 2, when they realize that this crazy thing you did all Saturday is also going to consume all of Sunday. The novelty wears off for observers, but stay strong! Don’t let them con you into cleaning the house! Unless, of course, you’re wearing earbuds while you do it. I saw one lady who said she and her sister got a hotel room for the weekend, and I think that is a FABULOUS idea.giphy3
  • Perfect the ability to type and listen: There’s a learning curve. But if you’re willing to try, it will save you so much time. I seriously spent the whole first hour of my audiobook setting up my play-by-play post, pulling up the official website and doing all my usual mindless scrolling of social media. For the rest of the ‘thon, almost all of my blogging and Litsy posting was done simultaneously with listening. The only exception is when I was wrapping up a book and wanted a few minutes to only think/write about that book.giphy4
  • Participate in challenges (selectively): The official 24 in 48 site had challenges approximately every 6 hours for the chance to win swag prizes. However, I’ve found there’s a balance between wanting to squeeze in my reading hours and pausing to devote attention to a challenge, particularly if it’s a photo challenge. For example, I didn’t even try the Spine Poetry or Book Rainbow challenges, because most of my books are packed up in moving boxes and the stress of digging through them would give me an ulcer. However, when the Dinner Party challenge rolled around, wherein you had to name 5 bookish people (authors, characters, etc.) to invite to a dinner party, I was all…
    giphy5
    …because writing is clearly something I enjoy doing. And BOOM. I won. Totally made my Monday to wake up and see that! If you’re interested, here is my response:

Lively, sharp conversation is the key to a good dinner party, so with that in mind…

The ladies: Irene from The Invisible Library to drop her in-depth knowledge of books and alternative dimensions, Elizabeth Bennett to throw shade disguised by manners, and real life author Sarah J Maas because I saw her speak and she is insanely funny.

The men: Dorian with his pre-Queen of Shadows self-obsession and lady’s man charm so Sarah can face off against her own character, and Warren from Shatter Me because he and Dorian would be smooth-talking besties but this table can only handle two men like that.

This dinner party will be the showdown of the century, as long as nobody resorts to slitting throats.

That about covers it, I think. If you’re at all interested, I highly recommend participating in the future. There’s no pressure to go for the full 24 hours if you have other commitments. Like sleep. And since the next set of dates has already been anounced, I’ll see you all on…

July 22-23, 2017

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to go begin warning the Husband Unit so he can be prepared in six months.

