The official Top 5 Wednesday topic is “Top Science Fiction/Fantasy Books on Your TBR,” but unofficially that basically encompasses my entire TBR list. Seriously, I think my family might pass out if I ever read a non-fiction book, which isn’t likely to happen. But before you think this is about to become one of those annoyingly long 134 item Buzzfeed listicles, fear not. I do have five, and “only” five. Sort of. You’ll see.

Confession time: these top 5 are all taken from the Sirens Reading Challenge list, developed by the Sirens women in fantasy conference. I’ve got a separate post detailing the 25 books I plan to read for that, which is a truer form of my “sci-fi/fantasy TBR,” in addition to the approximately 8 bazillion books I have out of the library at any given time. Click over there if you’d care to explode your TBR list. But in the spirit of T5W, here are five, and ONLY five.

  1. A Darker Shade of Magic  |  V.E. Schwab
    I have heard nothing but good things about this trilogy. I just finished up her YA book This Savage Song and really enjoyed it, so I have high hopes for this! Plus, I’ve seen the print copies and they are FAT and I LOVE fat fantasy books. And in a super silly reason, I want to be able to fully appreciate the “A Darker Shade of Magic as birds” Twitter account.

    51-craqewel-_sy344_bo1204203200_

  2. The Fifth Season  |  N.K. Jemisin
    Nothing says “ultimate reason to read a book” like “you might meet the author.” A friend of mine like Jemisin’s The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, and I trust her opinion so I’m translating those potential positive vibes to this book. Plus, this won the Hugo Award for best novel in 2016, so points for that. And if I prove that I like Jemisin’s work, then I have full justification to go buy the super fat omnibus of the Hundred Thousand Kingdoms trilogy. Seriously, it’s the size of a brick.

    19161852

  3. Sorcerer to the Crown  |  Zen Cho
    This has been on my TBR the longest of these five. I’ve seen it on lists of top fantasy reads intermittently since it came out in 2015, and am really just using the Sirens Reading Challenge as the cattle prod I need to knock it up to the top of the ‘ol TBR. You know how it goes.

    23943137

  4. The Queen of Blood  |  Sarah Beth Durst
    This is the only book on this Top 5 that I actually already own. When my family and I were at the American Library Association conference last year, my mom picked up an ARC of this and gave it to me with a comment akin to, “This looked like something you’d read.” Why yes it does, you know me so well mother of mine! Unfortunately I haven’t gotten to it since it entered my possession last June, but BETTER LATE THAN NEVER AMIRIGHT???

    25036395

  5. Baba Yaga’s Assistant  |  Marika McCoola & Emily Carroll
    Real talk, I only picked this off the Sirens list because of the name. A little context: my Husband Unit and I listened to an Xbox podcast when the Rise of the Tomb Raider video game was being released, which had a pack of bonus downloadable content named “Baba Yaga.” And the way the hosts liked to repeat “Baba Yaga” and randomly whisper it into the microphones…maybe you had to be there. But then we saw the movie John Wick, which LOL MORE BABA YAGA. If you are unfamiliar with the glorious piece of exceptionally violent cinema that is John Wick, check out this clip. I won’t embed it because it’s got pretty gnarly language.

    61yd87gekbl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Have you read any of these? See anything you need to make space for on your TBR? Let me know in the comments, and feel free to drop a link to your list!

