Has it already been six months? Seems like just yesterday I was barricading myself inside for the January 24 in 48 readathon, and here we are again, preparing for another glorious weekend of reading reading reading and you guessed it more reading. I’m going for a 6:30pm Friday night to 6:30pm Sunday night time frame, and am hoping to cram more hours in on the front end than my previous two readathons, because – full disclosure – there’s a church pool party on Sunday night, and since today’s high was 106 degrees there’s no way I’m missing that bizniz. I’ve got lots of books and lots of Diet Pepsi, so here we goooooo!!!!!

Wednesday, July 19

Pregame
Despite the fact that I have approximately 8 bazillion unread books already at home, I have an urge to patronize the library that cannot be ignored. 15 books/graphic novels/audiobooks later and a library receipt that says I’ve check out $412.77 worth of material later, I am READY.

File Jul 21, 8 13 18 PM

Friday, July 21

6:29pm 
Crap crap crap need a Diet Pepsi sprint to the kitchen!!! Back just in time for…

6:30pm
Off to the races! First on the docket is the audiobook of Fat Boy vs. the Cheerleaders by Geoff Herbach. Chosen because a) I love a good revenge of the nerds storyline, b) contemporary stories are easier for me to track on audio than fantasy, and c) it’s only 5 hours and 50 minutes long. I’ve discovered that I start to lose interest in audiobooks once they crack 10 hours, and it’s nice to be able to squeeze in a few short things during these ‘thons rather then delving into a hefty tome.

74b0cc5d6ec07e113e8257a2ec3a170e-w2041x

8:45pm
Most of the way through disk 2/5 of Fat Boy v Cheerleaders, and it is exactly the fluffy piece of fun I imagined it to be, though definitely not for those of the politically correct persuasion. Teenage boy narrator does not disappoint! The following quote made me laugh, delivered by main character Gabe’s grandpa and Gabe himself:

“Look at you, getting dropped off by the school quarterback in his fancy pants car.”

“I think it’s a Honda Civic.”

9:30pm
I’m getting the strangest sense of déjà vu, but I can find no concrete evidence that I’ve listened to this book before. As the night goes on, I’m 98% positive I have, in fact, read this book.

11:56pm
Ooof, time to sleep. On the last disk of the book but there’s plenty of time for that tomorrow.

Total So Far: About 5 hours, 20 minutes

Saturday, June 22

6:20am
I have to be up in 40 minutes to hit the garage sales with The Mother Unit, but I’m awake now, so in the dim light and with my currently-contactless eyes, I pull up Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire on my phone. Thank goodness for the iBooks low light setting that reverses out the color, because my early morning eyes can barely handle the lowest screen brightness.

34229161-_uy200_

9:35am
I squeezed in about 2 hours of ebook reading before getting back home, which was harder than it should’ve been thanks to a minor debacle involving forgotten garage door openers. Every Heart a Doorway is turning out to be quite enthralling; it’s the story of a boarding school for “wayward” children who have taken Narnia-esque journeys to other worlds, only to find themselves abruptly returned to our world and confronted with the reality that they may never return to what they consider their true homes. The internet tells me it won the Nebula Award for Best Novella in 2016 and is currently a finalist for the Hugo Award for Best Novella, which it totally deserves.

70f9d1b9-c65e-4868-9101-d969d32dc184

9:45am
I switch to wrap up the audiobook of Fat Boy vs. The Cheerleaders, only to be confronted with the irritating realization that this CD likes to play the tracks in a random order, meaning I have to keep an eye on iTunes and click the appropriate track after it decides to go back to track 7 YET AGAIN.

catroomguardian

10:07am
Fat Boy is finished, so I pop in The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle, which promises to be very different from what I’ve just read.

10:44am
Despite the fact that I need a break from reading on my tiny iPhone 4 screen, I can’t get Every Heart a Doorway out of my brain. So of course I go ahead and place a hold on the second book in the series, Down Among the Sticks and Bones, because I can tell by the synopsis that as soon as I finish Every Heart I will have a MIGHTY NEED. AND there’s a third coming out in January 2018 give it to meeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!

giphy1

12:55pm
Whelp, disk 2 of The Accident Season has decided to sputter and whir and skip and my desire to deal with scratched up library CDs is less than zero.

nope

Seriously, people. How hard is it to keep a CD in decent condition? You put it in a player. You take it out. THIS IS NOT DIFFICULT. Anyway, abandoning ship for the audiobook of The Future of Us by Jay Asher. I was interested in this one when it first came out, but have never gotten around to reading it, so now seems like as good a time as any!

1:15pm
A character in The Future of Us experiences the age-old dilemma of having to get offline because somebody needs to make a phone call. Ah, the good ‘ol days. And yes, I am old enough to remember having to get offline whenever The Mother Unit needed the phone, which as far as my childhood self was concerned, seemed to be every hour of the day.

2:12pm
Audiobook is zzzasbhsdoifh What? No! I wasn’t asleep…for that long. I think. No more than an hour, based on when I last updated.

005-funny-animal-gifs-sleepy-bunny

3:30pm
Finished Every Heart a Doorway aaaaaaaaaaaand you should go read it right now. As a novella, you can get through it in 2-3 hours, but it packs the punch and has the world and character depth of a full-length novel (better, even, it’s definitely one of my favorite reads so far this year). It tackles belonging, family of choice vs blood, gender issues, and the danger of longing for something you may not get back. It is truly a stunning read.

200

4:59pm
THERE ARE NO CLEAN DISHES IN THIS HOUSE WENDY’S SAVE US NOW.

6:40pm
Taking up ebook of The Assassin Game by Kirsty McKay for the sole reason that it’s one I already have downloaded on my phone. Boarding school? Fakey assassin game like my college friends organized? Cool why not let’s give it a go!

8:05pm
After taking care of such inanities as showering (it’s not like I sweat while reading), I am free for the rest of the evening, however long I choose to have that extend. The Husband Unit is starting to get antsy, but I told him I wanted to shoot for a total of 20 hours today. He is suddenly very interested in letting me read so I only have 4 hours for tomorrow. In the week leading up to this, and despite it being my third 24 in 48, I have fielded ongoing questions that include:

  • When’s your reading thing?
  • Is it just Saturday?
  • How many hours are you reading?

All I have to say is (and I do love Husband Unit):

giphy2

10:12pm
The female protagonist in The Future of Us thinks Wayne’s World is stupid, ok we’re done here.

tenor

11:44pm
HOW’S A GIRL SUPPOSED TO READ WITH ALL THESE COMIC CON TRAILERS DROPPING?!?!?!

Sunday, June 23

12:05am
The Future of Us is basically confirmation of everything we already know: trying to change the future is bad, and Facebook is not an honest indicator of happiness.

giphy3

12:15am
Need about 45 more minutes to make it to 20 hours today, but the audiobook is over and the thought of reading a page full of words makes me go

636258087699252753-95438358_giphy

Graphic novels to the rescue! Level Up by Gene Luen Yang is a cute and touching story about pursuing your own dreams despite family pressures. Protagonist Dennis is struggling with his parents’ desire for him to become a gastroenterologist when four greeting card angels come to life to help him out. It’s a quick enough read to knock out in 30 minutes, with bonus points for colonoscopy jokes.

217433-levelupcomic-header

For the last 15 minutes of the day, I start Friends with Boys by Faith Erin Hicks, which is about freshman Maggie joining her three older brothers at high school after being homeschooled previously. Oh, and she’s haunted by a ghost. The art looks really familiar until I realize the author did the illustrations for Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong, a fun revenge of the nerds graphic novel.

719247

Total So Far: 20 hours, 4 minutes

9:15am
Do I haaaaaaave to get up?

cat-sad

I take Friends with Boys in the car for those precious minutes driving to church, lunch and the grocery store. One can only hope there’s no repeat of the green pepper debacle of January’s 24 in 48.

1pm
HOME. YES. FINALLY. Made it out of the grocery story without incident this time, thank goodness. I’d hate to miss reaching the 24hr mark because I’d been arrested for assaulting an incompetent checkout clerk. I need a new audiobook so annoyances like laundry can be taken care of, so I cue up the audiobook of A Man Called Ove by Frederik Backman. I did listen to this during the January readathon, but I need a refresher since I just foisted it upon my book club as this month’s read.

3:43pm
Have to share this pic The Mother Unit helped me take for the readathon’s hour 36 “bookish gear” photo challenge. T-shirts and totes are great, but honestly my favorite piece of bookish swag are the stuffed animals. I WILL HUG THEM ALL!

1500842289-597509315da0c-user-submitted_large

4:28pm
I AM DOOOOOOOOOONE!!!!!! Finished up Friends With Boys, great friendship/sibling story if you’re interested. Still working on A Man Called Ove, I waited for it to wrap up a chapter before calling it quits for today. I don’t want to say that I’m sick of reading for now, but…I’m sick of reading for now. Don’t worry, I’ll get my mojo back by tomorrow morning.

Final Total: 24 hours, 13 minutes, 44 seconds

01-Jared-Boom-Done.gif

 

